Skip to content

D.4 En route to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

August 26, 2010

I am presently en route to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. I am consistently running about 5 minutes behind schedule today. Or perhaps 24 hours and 5 minutes behind.

I unknowingly showed up to my bus, 5 minutes after its scheduled departure. Fortunately, the travel agent flagged the bus down just as it was pulling into traffic. The bus stopped and everyone watched as I waddled down the sidewalk, hands full of food, coffee and luggage. I am the EPIK consumer.

As I approach the bus, there is a lot of commotion. The drivers are debating over weather or not to allow my beloved 7-11 Cappuccino on board, the culprit behind my tardiness.

"WHAT! There is a cover. See. It's fine! COVER COVER." I plead motioning towards the reliable lid of my coffee, terrified it will not be allowed to make this journey with me.

The driver, gracious but firm: "DO NOT SPILL!!"
Me, sheepish but jovial: "Never" as scalding hot coffee drips from my hands and arms due to my frantic rush.

I am the black sheep of this bus and the only foreigner on board. It’s a little cool in here.

20 minuets later…
I am really looking forward to this journey to Kuala Lumpur. 5 hours of uninterrupted thinking, writing and reading…

Suddenly, the bus stops and everyone departs, except for me. I am quite literally ushered off the bus by the drivers.

"Kuala Lumpur?" I repeat over and over as he drags me out.

Then I see the customs agent. Of course, the boarder. The agent reminds me to bring my passport when I remember that I have completely forgotten to fill out my immigration card. I take my sweet time filling out the card while everyone else is back on board the bus, once again waiting, for me.

5 minutes later, back on board…
Finally, I can enjoy the coffee as god intended and trip out to Atmosphere.

The bus stops again.

Everyone departs.

I stay. I am very apprehensive about leaving the safe confines of this bus. I do not want to be left behind in the middle of nowhere. I do not want that to happen!
"Go, Go, Passport, Luggage, Go" barks the irritated driver, as he once again ushers me off the bus.
"But my camera is on board. My food..." I mumble remembering the debacle after I was caught illegally importing rotten apples into Tijuana.
"GO"!
This time I rush through customs. I am ready. My passport is stamped, luggage scanned, I am the first person back on the bus.

I have finally arrived to Malaysia.
5 Hours Later
The location of my hostel is just great. I drop my luggage and rush outside. It’s dark out now so the city sparkles. The magnificent lights of the Petronas Twin Towers are calling my name. I follow them for about 2km.

When I arrive I feel the same way I felt when I stepped out of Grand Central Station in NYC. ELATED! I am listening to an Empire State of Mind. I feel like a gangsta.

I feel inspired. I have come very far.

This city is so dynamic. I risk becoming road kill for this photo.

I feel free.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron alberg permalink
    August 26, 2010 8:53 pm

    Way more then I could handle.I have enough drama watching traffic in Holt.

Leave a comment